New Jersey Earned Paid Sick Leave
Effective October 29, 2018, New Jersey employers generally must provide earned sick pay leave to each employee. The law preempts all local sick leave ordinances. The following chart explains the law and its requirements in detail.
|Which Employees and Employers Are Covered?||All employers and paid employees in New Jersey.|
|Must an Employer Compensate Leave?||Yes. An employer generally must pay an employee for earned sick leave at the same rate of pay with the same benefits as he or she normally earns. However, an employee is generally not entitled to payment of unused earned sick leave upon termination, resignation, or retirement.|
|How Much Leave May an Employee Accrue and Use?||40 hours|
|How Does an Employee Accrue Leave?||For every 30 hours worked, employees generally accrue 1 hour of earned paid sick leave.|
|When Can Employees Begin Accruing and Using Leave?||Generally 120 days after being hired, but no earlier than October 29, 2018.|
|Which Life Events Qualify for Leave?||
|Are Employers Required to Post or Provide Employees with Notices Regarding the Law?||Yes. Employers must conspicuously post a notice in a place accessible to all employees in each workplace. The employer must also provide each employee with a written copy of the notice within 30 days of its release by the state and at the time of hiring.|
|May Employers Require Notice When Employees Use Leave?||Yes. An employer may require 7 days of notice before foreseeable leave is to begin. For unforeseeable leave, an employer may generally require an employee to give notice of leave as soon as practicable.|
|May Employers Require Documentation for Leave?||Yes. Employers may:
|Must Employers Retain Records?||Yes. Employers must retain records documenting hours worked and earned paid sick leave taken by employees for 5 years.|
Additional requirements and exceptions to the information above may apply. For more information, please contact the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development at 609-659-9045.