State2024 Minimum Hourly Wage2023 Minimum Hourly Wage
Alabama$7.25$7.25
Alaska$11.73$10.85
Arizona$14.35$13.85
Arkansas$11.00$11.00
California$16.00$15.50
Colorado$14.42$13.65
Connecticut$15.69$15.00
Delaware$13.25$11.75
Florida$13.00 (effective Sept. 30, 2024)$12.00
Georgia$7.25$7.25
Hawaii$14.00$12.00
Idaho$7.25$7.25
Illinois$14.00$13.00
Indiana$7.25$7.25
Iowa$7.25$7.25
Kansas$7.25$7.25
Kentucky$7.25$7.25
Louisiana$7.25$7.25
Maine$14.15$13.80
Maryland$15.00$13.25 for employers with 15 or more workers; $12.80 for smaller businesses.
Massachusetts$15.00$15.00
Michigan$10.33$10.10
Minnesota$8.85 for small employers and $10.85 for large employers.*$8.63 for small employers and $10.59 for large employers.
Mississippi$7.25$7.25
Missouri$12.30$12.00
Montana$10.30$9.95
Nebraska$12.00$10.50
Nevada$12.00 (effective July 1, 2024)$10.25 for employers offering qualifying health benefits; $11.25 for all others.
New Hampshire$7.25$7.25
New Jersey$15.13 for most employers; $13.73 for seasonal and small employers who have less than six workers.$14.13 for most employers; $12.93 for seasonal and small employers who have less than six workers.
New Mexico$12.00$12.00
New York$16.00 for New York City, Long Island and Westchester; $15.00 for the rest of the state.$15.00 for New York City, Long Island and Westchester; $14.20 for the rest of the state.
North Carolina$7.25$7.25
North Dakota$7.25$7.25
Ohio$10.45$10.10
Oklahoma$7.25$7.25
Oregon$1.25 over the standard minimum wage for employers in the Portland metro; $1 less than the standard minimum wage for non-urban counties. ** (Effective July 1, 2024)$15.45 for employers in the Portland metro; $13.20 for non-urban counties; and $14.20 for all others.
Pennsylvania$7.25$7.25
Rhode Island$14.00$13.00
South Carolina$7.25$7.25
South Dakota$11.20$10.80
Tennessee$7.25$7.25
Texas$7.25$7.25
Utah$7.25$7.25
Vermont$13.67$13.18
Virginia$12.00$12.00
Washington, D.C.$17.00 until July 1, 2024 (the new rate is not yet determined)$17.00
Washington$16.28$15.74
West Virginia$8.75$8.75
Wisconsin$7.25$7.25
Wyoming$7.25$7.25
State Minimum Wages 2024

*Minnesota defines “large employers” as businesses with $500K or more in gross revenue.
**Oregon’s minimum wage is adjusted annually based on the increase, if any, to the 
U.S. City average Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers

California fast-food minimum wage

Since April 1st, fast-food workers in California must be paid at least $20 per hour. This rule applies to companies with 60 or more restaurants across the U.S. So, even if a fast-food chain has just a few locations in California, it still has to pay the $20 minimum wage.

If you’re not sure whether your business needs to follow this new law, it’s a good idea to ask a lawyer for help.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *